Submission Deadline is January 15, 2019

mudpie 2019 submission drive


Mudpie is a show written by children and performed by their peers. Every year, Mudlark Theater Company receives submissions of original creative writing pieces (short stories, fairy tales, poems, ramblings, rants, etc.) that have been written by local kids in the community. Mudlark Theater Company adapts these pieces for the stage and incorporates the show into its mainstage season.

What is mudpie?



Mudpie actors are cast from Mudlark Theater Company's general auditions and are generally comprised of children between the ages of 9-14. These talented young people spend weeks working with the creative writing pieces trying to find the best ways to bring them to life on stage.

The location is of Mudpie 2018 will be at the Noyes Street Theatre at the Noyes Cultural Center  (927 Noyes St. Evanston)


Clouds by Kaitlyn Aguiler and Andy Medina
A Stormy Night by Vivian Nguyen
United is The Name of the Game by Meheret Crowe-Barnes
That Potato Eating Chipmunk by Margaret Jansson
The Time I Almost Died by Fatimah Amaturraheem
The Telekinetic Twins vs. the Evil Ding-Dongs by Lila Selch and Irys Liang
How To Be Awesome by Margot Van Nice
The Job of a Narrator by Ava Jeske
Taco and Pizza Fight Each Other by Rylan
Fearless Successful Date by Janvi Patel
Wolves by Chloe Acosta
How the Ladybug Got Its Spots by Mia Alvarez
The Genie in the Pasta by Asher Giles
Science is Scary by Ivy Torvik
If I Was Principal by Brandon Rosemond
Pineapple by Vianey Terziev
Ode to Twix by Sofia Ortiz
The Stairway of Loss by Niyati Bhandari
I Am a Lion by Emmet D'Anastasio
My Favorite Memory by Leni
Hashbrown by Evelyn Skelton
What is Blue? by Kareem Dibs
Adopted by Lili Sukenic

Mudpie 2018Authors